HEALTHY FRENCH MACARONS

I’m addicted to Matcha.

image-7

There. I said it. First step of recovery is acceptance, right? Here’s why its addicting:

  • It’s delicious!
  • Matcha contains a wealth of antioxidants, amino acids, chlorophyll, and other vitamins and nutrients.
  • It’s 100% Japanese green tea grounded finely into a powder, ready to dissolve, which means you are consuming 100% of the benefits.
  • It has high antioxidant levels, zero sugar, boosts metabolism and weight loss as well as sustained energy! It’s natural detoxification is a pleasure.

image-1

I’ve tried matcha before, but none as awesome as Panatea! Matcha has a delicate sweetness to offset its rich earthiness of green tea leaves, making it pure and unrefined on your palate. Panatea’s is hands-down the most vibrant and full-bodied matcha I’ve had, which is why I created this recipe for them to shine on their own, with a Honey Vanilla Creme to compliment.

If you’re interested in purchasing their matcha, use my code “MATCHAMASTER119” for 10% off your order! They are honestly the best I’ve had; incomparable to that at Whole Foods/grocery stores. Check them out! ☺️

 

NOTE: This was my first time making macarons! They’re said to be the hardest cookie, as they’re a little fussy. How brave of me to experiment on my first try! These are considered gluten free, paleo and refined sugar free. I hope you enjoy these as much as I do!

image

Matcha Macarons

Makes 24 completed sandwich cookies

INGREDIENTS
3 Egg Whites
¼ cup stevia (50 g)
2 cups coconut sugar (200 g)
1 cup almond flour (120 g) (SEE NOTE BELOW)
pinch of salt

1 tbs Panatea matcha powder

¼ tsp cream of tartar (2 ml) * You can omit if needed, just may take a bit longer to reach stiff peaks but the recipe will still work)

NOTE: Almond flour can be made by dehydrating almonds and pulsing in a food processor until they are finely ground.

Method

Preheat oven to 300F degrees

Beat egg whites until foamy, then add salt, cream of tartar and stevia for 8-10 mins. TIP: #1 eggwhites should be room temp. To create room temp eggs, submerge in warm water for 5 mins.

Whip until they form a peak that stands upright. (I think I under-whipped mine which is why they were a little more flatter/wider. Oops!)

I added 2 drops of liquid green food colouring. I wanted mine to be a vibrant matcha colour, but 2 drops was a backup; the matcha did all the colouring.  TIP#2 Color does fade as it cooks, so do a shade or two darker than you want them to be.

TIP#3 Sift almond flour, matcha and coconut sugar. What remains will be the larger lumps of almond pieces. Just discard those, or use them to snack on 🙂 You want a really fine powder mixture to create a smooth and pretty on top to your cookie, or else there will be lumps.

Fold flour/sugar mixture into the egg white mixture. TIP#4 This is where all your hard work can really go wrong. Under mix and your macaroons will be lumpy and cracked when the bake with no feet; over mix and your macarons will be flat and won’t have feet, the mark of a well-made macaron. I simply folded until it was a uniform mixture but viscous enough to juuuust roll back into the bowl when I leaned the bowl. It should be like molten lava.

Transfer batter to a pastry bag or a Ziploc bag with the tip cut off.

Pipe out 1 inch rounds on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper (I used a silicon mat).

TIP#5: tap the pan hard on your counter at least 2-3 times to release the air bubbles. This will prevent the tops of your macaroons from cracking. You will see them popping after you do – thank me later.

TIP#6 Let them sit out for 20-30 mins, or up to an hour if you want. I actually had to let them hang out in my bedroom, which is air-conditioned because my country’s weather is too humid! This will allow them time to dry out a bit before hitting the hot oven. They should be “tacky” to the touch, but not stick to your fingertips. This is another important step to assuring your macarons develop feet! When they dry out they can’t spread out in the oven, and are forced to rise up. That’s what creates the feet! I let mine rest for about 20 minutes.

Bake for 20 mins. DO NOT UNDER BAKE, even if they look done! Otherwise they will stick to your tray. I knew mine were done when I lifted one up and it moved as one; if it is underdone, only the top will come off.

image-3image-4

 

I served mine filled with a Honey Vanilla Creme made of almond milk, honey, coconut sugar,  and vanilla essence, however I won’t share as it’s not the consistency I would like, and if you look closely it oozes out when you bite down.  image-5

Although it tastes and sets better the following day, I will share an updated version of this in the near future, after I experiment with some xantham gum and perhaps more flavour combinations! I suggest watching YouTube videos to get a better idea on what to expect, like this one. Should I make a video on how to make these? Let me know in the comments below!

image-6image-2

3 responses to “HEALTHY FRENCH MACARONS

  1. These look amazing! I love matcha! Would love some more matcha recipes also a video and more flavours of these would be wonderful!

    Like

    • I certainly will! Subscribe to my YouTube channel and keep up with me on my Instagram, @bringing_fit ☺️ I’ll be posting more of my matcha favorites. Panatea green is my favorite brand! Get your matcha so that you can try the recipes as I post them 😉 I have a code for my followers to get 10% if you’re interested. It’s “matchamasters119” xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

