Nonitone

I’ve recently been gifted ‘Nonitone’ from the wonderful team of Noni Noni (website here) so I immediately tried it as soon as I could! It has a slightly sweet taste with undertones of the super fruit Noni! I mixed a little in water (made it taste like iced tea!) as well as adding it to my morning smoothie.

image

The benefits of Noni are tremendouuuus! Just a few are:

  1. Cell rejuvenation/Skincare/hair – Noni’s properties are useful on skin and scalp conditions, such as eczema and ringworm; also rubbed on scalp for lustrous hair; and will keep your skin young.
  2. Antidepressant/sedative – Noni stimulates seratonin and melatonin, two very important hormones. Seratonin affects mood, emotions, and sleep; imbalance in levels of serotonin may contribute to depression. Melatonin regulates the Circadian rhythm, which helps you sleep; keeping this regular will help you get a good night’s rest, also improving your mood.
  3.  Immune system booster – Noni activates macrophages and strengthens the immune system, which then produces more lymphocytes. It also contains antibacterial agents that fight infectious bacteria, including Staphylococcus aureus and Escherichia coli.
  4. Analgesic – Noni has the nicknames of “The Tree For Headaches” or “The Painkiller Tree”. Studies have shown that noni reduced pain comparable to the drugs tramadol and hydrocortisone, making it effective for arthritic and other joint pains.

My favourite benefits of adding just 1 teaspoon a day into my diet is its potent, rich antioxidant levels that boosts weightloss and metabolism, anti-inflammatory benefits, detoxification, and boosts energy levels. The first time I heard about Noni was reading Miranda Kerr raving about it and swearing by its benefits!

image

It all starts for me with the noni juice,” the 30-year-old says. “Noni has been used for over 2,000 years by the Polynesians and my grandmother introduced it to me when I was twelve years old and I’ve been drinking it ever since.”

Granny’s ole noni juice, eh? According to Kerr, it’s “…not only great for your skin, but it’s also great for your general well-being.” (video of her here).

I’m going to be drinking this stuff daily and hoping I wake up looking like Miranda Kerr. Recipe for the smoothie will be posted below for anyone that wants it!

 

image

Noni Mango Smoothie 

  • 2 Mangoes
  • 1 1/2 Frozen Bananas
  • 1/2 cup Coconut Milk
  • 1 teaspoon Nonitone
  • Ice, optional

Blend everything up and pour in your favourite cup. I topped mine with a little chia and more noni powder. I usually add a date or a little coconut sugar to some of my smoothies but this was so naturally sweet, it tasted like dessert. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

