Nutella Brownie Bites

I had to hide these from myself – that’s how good they are. Addicting is insufficient to describe these beauties. Soft, chewy, melt in your mouth (healthy) Nutella truffles that will change your view on bliss balls forever.  image

Unfortunately, Nutella isn’t healthy. I know, I got pretty sad too. I can’t even keep Nutella in my house because despite my willpower being strong, it is nowhere near Nutella strong.

Luckily, I created these to curb my cravings for all things sweet with everything I’d ever want (Nutella, chocolate, Nutella, etc.)

You can switch around the flavor combinations to suit your taste, but this recipe is gluten-free, paleo, refined sugar free, dairy free and raw vegan. I’ve always wanted to make bliss balls, but dates are pretty scarce to find here (when I say scarce I mean I haven’t seen any in 4 months), and I’ve been rationing the dates I bought whilst abroad. These beauties don’t even need them – they get their chewiness from the coconut and sweetened by the syrup. Yum! image

image

Nutella Brownie Bites

makes 12 tablespoon balls

 

 

• 3/4 cup hazelnut meal

• 1 cup shredded coconut

• 2 tablespoons raw cacao powder

• 3 tablespoons coconut nectar/liquid sweetener of choice

• 3-5 tablespoons of almond or hazelnut mylk/water

• 2 tablespoons virgin coconut oil

• 2 scoops of chocolate protein powder (I used About Time who has whey as well as vegan)

• 1 tablespoon almond butter (or hazelnut butter if you have)

 

Method

Pulse all dry ingredients in a food processor or high powered blender. Combine wet ingredients in a separate bowl, and drizzle into dry ingredients until fully combined and begins to hold together/form a ball. I used a mini ice cream scooper to make them all more or less the same size, about a tablespoon of dough per. Roll in extra coconut, cacao or hazelnut meal and refrigerate to maintain their shape. Enjoy!

image

Leave a Reply

