Matcha Pancakes w/ Rosemary Caramelized Apples

 image  Wow. I think I’ve found the perfect pancake recipe; all my future recipe will deviate from this set one, plus its the perfect serving size! I enjoyed my pancakes with a litter of fresh coconut water, so I only had 3 pancakes (I like to measure them using a 1/4 cup serving of batter. Also helps them come out round!) but I was perfectly satisfied.

To be completely honest, this recipe was perfect because it had the best texture. Pan – Cakes. It honestly tasted like little cakes fried in a pan. The texture was moist and crumbly, which is not always the case with pancakes using oat flour (especially if it includes no Greek yogurt or so).

imageimage

Anywho, this is easy-peasy and delicious! I love matcha, especially in my baked goods like dessert and breakfast. It has a nutty, earthy flavour that is slightly sweet but a little different than what you’d expect, since one usually expects the taste of green tea. I can truly say that PanaTea has the highest grade quality. They’re manufactured in Japan and sold online. If you’ve ever tried matcha before, you’ll note the difference. It’s absolutely unrivaled to those you buy at specialty stores or even Whole Foods – the colour just screams “I’m the best” which is why most of my matcha goods are so brightly coloured (without food colouring). It’s because they have the highest quality and purest taste! You can check them out at panateagreen.com and get a 10% discount with my code “matchamaster119”. I urge you to purchase matcha; it’s always needed and a favourite in my household (a simple cup of tea is amazing with benefits untold…except I did tell them here lol). 

Ingredients (serves 1 hungry person or 2 not so hungry people)

  • 1 egg 
  • 1/3 cup mylk (i used soy, but any preference of yours can work)
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tablespoons coconut sugar (or any sweetener)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 3 tablespoons gluten-free flour (or more, depending on your oat flour. I used Bob’s Red Mill gluten free mix)
  • 1 teaspoon Panatea Green’s matcha powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • pinch salt

Method

In a large bowl, combine all the wet ingredients and whisk well. In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients. Note: If you do not have oat flour, simply measure out the equal amount of oats and pulse in a high speed blender until powdery. Ta-da! Oat flour.

Add the dry to wet and whisk until just combined. Lumps are usually normal. Fry 1/4 cup of batter on a medium-low heat on a non-stick cooking pan. Otherwise, simply brush your pan with a little heated coconut oil. Flip when bubbles begin to form around the edges – this is crucial for thick, fluffy pancakes. Waiting until the top half of the pancakes (that which faces up) is nearly fully cooked makes your pancakes flat – flipping as bubbles form around the edges helps it to puff up when you flip. Not entirely sure if you’re “feeling me” but you’ll see what I mean when you do it! Serve hot with maple syrup, honey, ghee or fruit. I like mine with caramelised apples, which also helps me cut down on the amount of honey used. 

image

Caramelized Rosemary Apples 

Dice 1-2 apple(s) into bite size squares. Heat a nonstick griddle (I just used my pancake one) with 1 tsp coconut oil, 1 tsp honey, 1 tablespoon of minced fresh rosemary and 1 tsp coconut sugar. Fry until fully warmed through, and caramelised to golden brown. Serve warm on top of the pancakes. Enjoy! This creates its own syrup but feel free to use more. 

Leave a Reply

